Standard Bank Limited

Ticker code STANDARD Industry Money Center Banks Standard Bank Centre
African Unity Road
Capital City
Lilongwe, Malawi
ISIN MW000A1C5MK1 Sector Financial
Initial Listing 29 June 1998 Financial Year End 31 December
Website Results Released Half-yearly


Standard Bank, previously known as the Commercial Bank of Malawi, was registered as a commercial bank on 15 March 1969. The start-up share capital was K2.5 million and the founder shareholders were the Malawi Development Corporation (20%), Press Holdings Limited (20%) and Banco Pinto Sotto Mayor (60%). The first branch was opened in Limbe on 11 April 1970. The Bank is a subsidiary of the Standard Bank Group of South Africa.


P.O. Box 30453
Lilongwe 3, Malawi


Etness Chanza
Standard Bank Centre
African Unity Road
Capital City
Lilongwe, Malawi



Name Position
Dr. Rex Harawa Chairman
Andrew Mashanda Director
Roderick K Phiri Director
Andrew Chioko Director
Temwani Simwaka Director
Jayesh Patel Director
Catherine Mtonda Director
Allan Chinula Director
Kitili Mbathi Director
Ngeyi Kanyongolo Director
Andrew Mashanda Chief Executive Officer
Frank Chantaya Head: CIB
Margaret Kubwalo-Chaika Head: PBB
Temwani Simwaka Chief Finance Officer
Etness Chanza Company Secretary
William Nuka Head: IT
Daniel Mbozi Head: Operations
Thokozani Unyolo Head: Marketing
Kondwani Mlilima Head: Risk
Alipo Nyondo Head: Audit
Lesego Osman Head: Global Markets

Shareholding structure as at 31 December 2014
Name of shareholder % Shareholding
Stanbic Africa Holdings, UK 60.20
Others 39.80
Total 100.00